Guys and Dolls CASD 2007

Wondering where I’ve been? I’ve been helping with my school’s musical. This year we did Guys and Dolls and it was a lot of fun. I was a spot-lighter for them, and that was the first year I’ve ever done the musical period. My sister Cora did the musical when she was in High-school so I thought about doing it too. At first I couldn’t stay after school a lot but about 2 weeks before the actual show I was able to stay after every single night. I helped out with set crew and helped them put some of the set together and then later help paint the sets. It was tons of fun and I got to spend time with my friends. I made a ton of new friends too.

The musical started March 1 and went until March 4th. Ticket sales didn’t sell out but they didn’t do too bad. Cast did a wonderful job, I was really impressed. the Wednesday before the shows started, my senior project was due. Unfortunately I had to stay up till about 3 in the morning to get 2 more pages for it, but I got it done. I got it back yesterday and I got a 82 B on it and that is good enough for me. But staying up till 3 had its toll on me. A day later I got sick, and as the musical started I just got worse and worse. March 3rd I had a temperature of 102.2 and I _Still_ had to go and tough it out. I did and I’m OK with that… I just felt like crap. I think I had bronchitis because everyone else had it so I must have caught it from someone there. My chest hurt, my throat, and my head. The very last day of the musical my temperature went back to 99.5 so I was feeling a tad bit better but I hadden’t gotten my appetite back the whole time. It was hard to eat things because I couldn’t tell whether or not I was hungry. My eating schedule was thrown all wacko because of the musical.

I’m glad it’s over because it was so much work, though I’m sad that it is over. Had lots of fun and mets so many new friends. I’ll remember the memories for years to come. Come to think of it, everyone said I did really well with the spotlights so maybe I have a new skill I could use later in life. Broadway? haha~

One Response

  1. dude! a B?!?! That’s awesome! I’m so proud of you. I’m sorry you got sick, that stinks. Did you find my name on any of the walls?

    After high school I worked at a theatre in Greensburg running spot for Grease and Joseph & the amazing technicolor dreamcoat, maybe you can check into that? But you’d probably need your driver’s license first 😛

Leave a Reply

